

March 31, 2023

The Honorable Kay Granger H-307, U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom Cole 2358-A Rayburn House office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mike Quigley 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairwoman Granger, Chairman Cole, and Ranking Members DeLauro and Quigley:

As you draft the upcoming Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies appropriations bill for FY 2024, we request that you include the following language to prevent the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) from carrying out its proposed rule—or a similar rule—on commercial motor vehicle speed limiters.

In June 2022, the FMCSA issued an advance notice of supplemental proposed rulemaking (87 FR 26317) over the speed limiter rule, which received 15,667 public comments.¹ We are concerned with FMCSA setting a speed limit potentially lower than the flow of traffic and increase potentials for accidents. According to the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA), "The frequency of interactions by a vehicle traveling 10-miles per hour below the posted speed limit was found to be 227% higher than a vehicle moving at traffic speed." Further, in the spirit of our federalist system that should promote "laboratories of democracy," the states are best equipped to set speed limits.

Therefore, we respectfully request you include the following language:

SEC._____ - None of the funds made available by this Act may be used to promulgate any rule or regulation to require vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of more than 26,000 pounds operating in interstate commerce to be equipped with a speed limiting device set to a maximum speed.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

¹ https://www.regulations.gov/docket/FMCSA-2022-0004

² https://downloads.regulations.gov/FMCSA-2022-0004-15623/attachment 1.pdf

Sincerely,

Josh Brecheen

Member of Congress

Lauren Boebert

Member of Congress

Wan Bishop
Dan Bishop

Member of Congress

Scott Perry

Member of Congress